X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Barr88
    • May 2011

Oil oil everywhere

Hi all! I'm new to this board and very excited about the wealth of knowledge here. I am working on an Ericson 35 that has been in my family for years and very much neglected. Just raced hard. I spent all last weekend cleaning a filth bilge. The a4 is obviously spewing oil everywhere. My old man tells me he's always had an oil leak in the reversing gear area. He thinks it's the grease seal between the prop shaft and the reversing gear. He says he's tried fixing this dozens of times and thrives a giant pain. So I'm looking for some advice on how to find the oil leak in case he is wrong. And second how to fix it. This is my engine learning experience. I have very little knowledge of mechanical work
    Thanks
    Barry
  • marthur
    Afourian MVP
    • Dec 2004

First, many oil leaks like like the rear seal because dripping oil often runs back along the motor and drips off the back of the reverse gear. Here is a link to a guide for finding oil leaks: Oil Leaks

Second, the rear seal does go bad on many motors. It is about a 30 minute job to fix it if the motor is on a workbench. I spent two days on my belly changing it on board my boat. Mostly because of poor access issues and trips to the hardware stores. I highly recommend you purchase the two special tools from Don Moyer.

If you buy the seal and tools from Moyer Marine, they come with a complete set of instructions for changing the seal. The only difficult thing is removing the coupler, and that is what you want the special tool for!

Good luck.
    Mike

Comment

• hanleyclifford
      Afourian MVP
      • Mar 2010