New with an A-4 is in the mail, what do I have?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • The Garbone
    • Dec 2013

New with an A-4 is in the mail, what do I have?

The wife and I are currently in the process of reviving a 1978 Catalina 30 with no engine in it and a half full diesel tank. Cleaning out the bilge I found a nameplate for a Perkins and the hatch cover over the motor is modified to fit a taller than stock motor.

I have purchased an A4 that is due to arrive here in Florida on a truck in a day or two. I will take more pictures then.

They seller stated it ran nice and has a 2:1 reduction. What can you knowledgeable folk tell me about this motor before it gets here.

I have no experience with A4s but do know old motors having done old school motorcycles and a 1947 tractor in the past.

Thanks,
    Attached Files
    Gary
    78' Catalina 30 #1179
    www.svknotaclew.wordpress.com
  • edwardc
    Afourian MVP
    • Aug 2009

First, welcome to the forum! You'll find this to be an invaluable source of A4 knowledge, and the folks here are all quite willing to help.

Here's what I see at first glance:

* Appears to be in pretty good condition rust-wise, except around the water plate.

* Early model block, indicated by the crossover tube on the head, tombstone cover on the reversing gear, and oil-fill cap on the accessory drive.

* Mechanical fuel pump.

* Modification to the oil-fill cap to allow easier access for oil fills.

* At least one of the so-called "freeze plugs" on the manifold has been replaced.

* Rear engine mounts have been modified.

* Water pump appears to have been modified.

* No evidence of a 2:1 reduction gear at the output. It would look like this:
    Last edited by edwardc; 12-12-2013, 09:57 AM.
    @(^.^)@ Ed
    1977 Pearson P-323 "Dolce Vita"
    with rebuilt Atomic-4

sigpic

Comment

• sastanley
      Afourian MVP
      • Sep 2008

Garbone..welcome.