Changing antifreeze without starting engine.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Joel H.
    • Dec 2010

Changing antifreeze without starting engine.

Excuse me if this is a stupid question!

I'm new to the A4 and pressed for time.

The P.O. winterized my boat using -50 RV antifreeze. After taking possession of the boat I found out that people around here (Chicago) use -100. I want to, at least, boost it by getting some -100 into the block. I can't easily restart the engine ( no readily available water and water pump cover and impeller removed). Could I not just disconnect the outlet hose from the exhaust and pour some -100 into the block that way? I figure I can put a catch pan under the open water pump and let it pour until the pink stuff (-50) becomes blue stuff (-100).
    Again, If there is something that I'm stupidly missing I'm sorry, but I'm pressed for time. I am leaving Fri. for a 10 day vacation and worried/paranoid.
  • edwardc
    Afourian MVP
    • Aug 2009

This should work _IF_ you remove the thermostat, replace the empty housing, and clamp-off the bypass hose. Otherwise, the closed thermostat will bypass tha new antifreeze around the block and only the manifold will get it.
    @(^.^)@ Ed
    1977 Pearson P-323 "Dolce Vita"
    with rebuilt Atomic-4

sigpic

Comment

• Joel H.
      • Dec 2010

Take out the thermostat, of course!
      I need to see what the P.O. has in there anyway.
      I'll get to it in the a.m.
      Thanks for reply Edward.
      Joel H.

Comment

• 67c&ccorv
        Afourian MVP
        • Dec 2008

Originally posted by Joel H. View Post
        Excuse me if this is a stupid question!

I'm new to the A4 and pressed for time.