X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ButchPetty
    • Jul 2010

Newbee With An Atomic 4

I have been making my 1968 Hughes a home for a couple of years now. It had no engine when I got it and in the end to my "how should I power it" dilemma I have purchased a 1966 Atomic 4. The engine is complete but partially disassembled. I completely trust the seller and take his word on what he has said about the engine. He said: each cylinder had 114 psi on the compression test before disassemble. He had it as a spare engine and it set in his garage for 10 years. He is 80, retired engineer, sailor retired and was selling his one owner, Pearson Triton sailboat also. He lived in Michigan on the great lakes. The engine has never been in salt water. But he had never ran the engine. That is the history of the engine as I know it.

Today I finally got time to start taking a good look at the engine. It has the following problems:

1. Broken Exhaust Manifold Flange Stud/bolt.

2. Water Jacket Cover Stud/Bolt Broken.

3. (New: Just Discovered) A Hairline Engine Block Crack.

Number two I think I got it. Moyer has the fix.

Number one I would like some advice please. I have posted a picture.

Number three is my concern. The crack does not look like it could cause any problems other than it may blow a head gasket. And this I am assuming because of its location relevant to adjoining passages in the head. And the fact that the crack does not run down the face of the block, just the surface of aginst the head. What is the recommended fix to this and how can I cheapest get this motor to give me a couple of years of service?

Also, standing in front of the engine and turning the engine in the correct rotation, counter clockwise, looking from the back of the engine the coupling turns clock wise if the shifter is pushed forward. Am I correct that this is a "right hand" rotation? The contradicts the Moyer website. Just curious.