• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • george58
    Frequent Contributor
    • Oct 2015

Balboa 27

Hello, I am new to sailing and last week bought a Balboa 27. Sailing is something I have always wanted to do so here I am at 57. My boat is a bit of a project but the price was rite. It's all there but the motor. Prop , shaft and plumbing are all there. I don't know what it was but the Atomic 4 sounds interesting. At this point should I go Diesel? Someone have an Atomic for sale?
    Not a lot of cash left over but I see where some have changed to just an outboard. I think I would like to have a power plant. Any advice or help is welcome.
  • Al Schober
    Afourian MVP
    • Jul 2009

George,
    Welcome to the forum. You'll find lots of folks here that think the A4 is a fine engine, but not any that I know of who will tell you to go diesel.
    Any chance the boat originally had an Atomic 4? Might just be a matter of finding an engine and installing it.
    Are there engine beds in the boat? Perhaps with studs? The A4 wants a set of studs that are 11 1/2" apart side to side and 15 7/16" fore and aft.
    How about the shaft & propeller? If there's a coupling on the shaft, how big is it and how many bolts? Do you know the diameter and pitch of the propeller?
    Finding an Atomic 4 shouldn't be a problem. More important is finding a match for your pocket book and your desire/ability to work on a used engine to make it reliable. Many members of this forum find that working on an engine over the winter is a worthwhile and therapeutic project. There are engines available ranging from a) completely overhauled, to b) running takeouts, to c) engines in a basket.
    Tell us more about you and the boat..
    Last edited by Al Schober; 10-24-2015, 02:52 PM. Reason: correct stud dimensions

Comment

• hanleyclifford
      Afourian MVP
      • Mar 2010

Welcome again. We love pictures. Send pictures of engine room, shaft coupling and bed, and I bet we can figure it out.