X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Trumplestiltskin
    • May 2010

Elmer SO Lost

I have just acquired a Catalina 30 for 900 bucks. She is a 77 and in pretty good condition, but I am having problems with getting the motor running. She will start using that spray can stuff only and will seize after it burns off. People are telling me to use a fuel additive to burn the condensation out (if there is any) is this wise? Also, there seems to be an alligator clip running between two contact points on the fuel pump? The man responsible for rigging this engine has passed on and his widow though wonderfully sweet knows next to nothing about engines (which is more than I) and does not know what her husband did or has done. I am a mechanically disinclined grad student on a limited budget and I need to get this motor running before memorial day or I will lose ANOTHER golden opportunity in my annual slip for less than 1000 dollars a year. Should I just bite the bullet and buy a new engine (I would have to drop out of school but it would be worth it I love this boat!)? Please help a frazzled elmer learn how an engine works.
  • hanleyclifford
    Afourian MVP
    • Mar 2010

Extra Credit Course

Trumplestiltskin - You have just added a minor to your educational profile (but be advised you could get the bug and it might become your major). Go to the onlne catalog and order the Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Service and Overhaul Manual. This is cram time for you, and in addition you will find a crowd of enthusiasts on this forum eager to help. Welcome and all the best to you! Hanley

Comment

• hanleyclifford
      Afourian MVP
      • Mar 2010

Fuel additive