X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Clucas
    • Apr 2007

Indigo vs. Martec folding 2-blade vs. fixed 2-blade

I currently have a Martec folding 2-blade prop on my P30 and am frustrating by the poor reverse performance. The previous owner provided a fixed 2-blade Michigan, but I want to consider an Indigo based on the positive feedback I read here.

Question: How much of a performance hit should I expect under sail with a 3-blade vs. a folding 2-blade? Is the reverse performance that much better? I'm on a mooring and don't use reverse too often, but certainly want it when I need it. Am I likely to see a marked improved in reverse if I switch to the fixed 2 blade?

Thanks in advance for any and all opinions.
  • High Hopes
    Afourian MVP
    • Feb 2008

I have no personal experience with any props other than the 2 blade one on my Sabre 28.

But I have been following this item for some time on various forums. From what I have read of others' experiences, the fixed props do better in reverse, both 2 and 3 blade, than folding props. There is a little less prop walk with a 3 blade.

Most "wows" I read regarding the Indigo prop are about smoother running in forward. The three blades grab the water better, the prop has a smaller diameter, and is probably better balanced than the older clunkers most of us are using.

The Indigo 3 blade isn't much bigger than most folks' 2 blade props and I haven’t seen any reporting of additional drag. If you are a cruiser, this must be true; I can’t speak for racers.
    Last edited by High Hopes; 08-15-2010, 10:43 PM.

Comment

• ndutton
      Afourian MVP
      • May 2009

Originally posted by Clucas View Post
      I currently have a Martec folding 2-blade prop on my P30 and am frustrating by the poor reverse performance.
      You've hit on the knock on folding props, that being poor performance in reverse. Goes with the territory.
      Neil
      1977 Catalina 30
      San Pedro, California