X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Rbyham
    • Jan 2013

New to me 5 years on hard

Just purchased a 1966 Hinterhoeller 28 complete with original A4. I have zero experience with the A4 but am learning form lots of reading here as well as the manuals that came with the boat.

The engine was run for me on the hard for about 10 minutes. All appeared to be fine. Temp and oil pressure looked good. But here is my question. As I get ready to splash the boat in about 3 weeks, what basic maintenance would you recommend for an engine that has been stored for the past 5 years. The PO was an experienced sailor who claimed to start the engine regularly while on the hard. He was also a great believer in MMO. So I sense the engine has been fairly well cared for. But still I am seeing on these forums about various flushing. Should I flush or change anything? The A4 has been upgraded to electronic ignition for whatever that means.
  • Sony2000
    • Dec 2011

Its just like any Chevy. It needs all of its liquids, all the time. Then step on the gas.

Comment

• Dave Neptune
      Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus
      • Jan 2007

Welcome

Rbyham, first welcome to the Afourian Forum!! You have come to the right place for anything A-4 a pretty much anything an A-4 can attach to.
      After a long layup I would take a good hard look at the fuel & filters and change the oil after a short run at temp.
      You said it started and ran so the fuel is perhaps OK. I'd run that fuel out before adding any fresh fuel. If the fuel is bad in this manner you will have less bad fuel to deal with. Per Shawn don't add good fuel to bad you'll just get more bad fuel.
      Other than the above just check the packing and the block for leaks.
      As you comeup with questions just fire away good sir.

Dave Neptune

Comment

• hanleyclifford
        Afourian MVP
        • Mar 2010

Before you launch write down specs on your prop and even take a picture of it.

Comment

• CalebD