• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ndutton
    Afourian MVP
    • May 2009

Adjustable main jet

I don't have one so I'm not experienced with it but what is a good baseline setting for the adjustable main jet? Number of turns off the seat?
    Neil
    1977 Catalina 30
    San Pedro, California
    prior boats 1987 Westsail 32, 1970 Catalina 22
    Had my hands in a few others
  • Dave Neptune
    Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus
    • Jan 2007

FWIW

Neil, I tried one once I got my "stock carb" clean and the float properly adjusted. I was told to start at about 1 1/2 turns open.

I used it to check for lean and rich spots through out my boats range of speeds with an Indigo prop. I found the carb to be a bit lean at off idle to the lower mid-range and a bit rich at WOT. I used thid info and my knowledge of carbs from considerable experience to make a few changes to get better economy and performance across the board without messing with the jet. They do work if you are only setting for one speed quite well though. Personally I don't really like them in a boat because of the possible fuel leak from tweaking.

It did take me a while to get the carb "balanced better" and at least a dozen times breaking it open and changing jets, air correctors and emulsion well
    (float) levels. The adjustments really made a big difference at idle and slow speed too as what I did quickened the "leaner" hi-speed transfer from idle. I could run a leaner idle and absolutely no bog.

BTW as you know I do love to tinker with carbs especially Webbers since there is so much info in their manuals.

Dave Neptune

Comment

• ndutton
      Afourian MVP
      • May 2009

Thanks Dave. I was able to find the Moyer instructions on this website and your advice matches theirs exactly. I asked on behalf of another boat owner who has yet to join the forum but I'm sure he will soon.
      Neil
      1977 Catalina 30
      San Pedro, California
      prior boats 1987 Westsail 32, 1970 Catalina 22