How to remove fuel line from barbed connection?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Wisakedjack
    • May 2015

How to remove fuel line from barbed connection?

Hi, guys! This may sound like a silly question, but I am still learning my new/old Atomic 4 engine. When I serviced carburetor last fall I needed to remove fuel lines from the barbed connectors. The only way I could do it was by cutting fuel lines from the connectors. I am curious whether there is a better way to remove fuel lines, so they can be refitted again? Do you just yank them out or do you some special tool? Any advise would be greatly appreciated.
    Alex
    1976 Catalina 30
    Perth Amboy, NJ
  • Al Schober
    Afourian MVP
    • Jul 2009

I think your problem is not unusual. I have also noticed that the rubber hoses tend to bond to the brass nipples. Best way to crack them loose is to grab the hose with a pair of pliers an see if you can get it to rotate on the fitting, then try to horse it off.
    When I have managed to get the hose loose, I've noticed that the brass nipple is discolored - some sort of chemical reaction between the rubber and the brass? I've use other nipples that don't seem to have the problem - as I recall, they were steel and had one rounded lump rather than the multiple sharp lumps of the brass fittings.
    Neat topic for a thread - maybe we'll all learn something.

Comment

• roadnsky
      Afourian MVP
      • Dec 2008

I have a small flat blade screw driver that I've bent the end at 90°
      Slide that end under the hose and "work" it around while pulling the hose.
      The blade will break the suction and also help the hose as it works over the individual barbs until releasing.

It's still a bit of voodoo science but I find it easier than just yanking and tugging.

Also, I have a rule that no more than 2 pulls off the barb before just replacing the hose.