X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Ydel
    • Oct 2004

Do I Have a fuel Problem

I think that I have a fuel problem, not enough usage of the boat. I was sailing on Saturday and on the trip back to the Marina (motoring about 1 Mile) the engine started to run very rough, it got worse and worse and finally quit at the entrance to the marina. Started right back up und felt like it was running on 1 cylinder and then quit again. I was able to start it often enough that I was able to drift in to my slip.
    Went back to the boat on Sunday, started the engine and it ran great. Does that not sound like a fuel filter problem.
    Any advice would be appreciated, as you can tell I am NOT a mechanic.

Bill Ydel
    SallyB #441
  • s/v Essayons II
    • Nov 2004

Not enough information to come to a solid theory on you problem....

Sorry, I know that is not what you are looking for. There are many issues that could cause the problem you are describing.
    1- Water in fuel
    2- Sticking valve
    3- Spark plugs fouled
    4- Dirt in Carb
    5- Foriegn debris in fuel tank
    6- Cracked spark plug wires
    7- Bad ignition coil
    8- Bad Distributor Cap/Rotor
    9- Dirty Points/Condensor (unless you have Electronic Ignition)
    10- Bad wiring harness
    11- Fouled prop
    12- Clogged Fuel Filter
    13- Old Fuel

I could add a bunch more to the list but I am making some assumptions based on your post. Since your engine did start and run OK the next time you used it I would eliminate 1,2,3,11 and 12 from my list of issues.

COA I would advise:
    1- Place an additive like SeaFoam in you tank, just in case you have moisture in you fuel, this will also help clean you carb/plugs. #1,3,4
    2- Check your spark plug wires for cracks and replace if necessary. #6
    3- Check your Cap and Rotor for cracks/corrosion and replace if necessary. If moisture is getting into your cap this will cause all kind of phantom problems. #8