X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • blhickson
    • Nov 2012

How to replace oil/water filter?

I know this is an unusually greenhorn question, but I'm new to taking care of our A4. How do you change or clean the oil/water separator filter? When I take off the bottom part, is fuel going to spew all over the engine compartment? It's bulkhead mounted if it makes any difference. It is a Purolator filter, but we are getting a Racor.
    Also: had good conversation w/ Ken earlier this week re: issues w/ stalling engine. Among other things, he suggested installing new o/w sep. filter as close to the level of the fuel tank as possible. Is there any danger of installing it on an aft bulkhead down in the deep locker very close to the tank?
    Also: anyone know what size are the fuel lines? Our boat is 2 hrs away in Chas and is in a marina that is sorta far from any decent store, so I try to get everything together before I go down to the boat.
    Thanks!
    Barbara L. Hickson
    Flight Risk
    C&C 33-1
    Chas., SC
  • Mo
    Afourian MVP
    • Jun 2007

Bill,
    Unfortunately I think a trip to the boat is required. Take some pictures of what you have currently, ensure you have fuel line shut off valve, take pics of filters...even small filters etc.

There are typically 2 sizes of fuel lines used. We usually have at least one in-line filter installed as well as a water separator. Tank cleanliness and age of gas, addition of ethanol laden gas as opposed to the non-ethanol gas all make a difference. Dirty tank??

Read through some of the threads re: ethanol in fuel; filters; fuel filters; oil filter.

Take pics of everything and get back to us because then we will be able to really help you out. Unless we see what you have sometimes it's hard to advise on what to do. Don't want to see you doing things that were not needed or required and NOT doing things that were needed.