• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Herman Boermans
    Frequent Contributor
    • Sep 2007

Water in piston 4

Hello everyone
    I am a first timer in the forum and would like some suggestions on my problem. I should say I have limited mechanical knowledge (I’m in medicine SO have little training except heart valves) but have searched for lots of help.
    Well my problem with my late model 1973 Atomic 4 in a Grampian 30 started in August when after having starting problems my engine began to run very rough. Engine has always run well, been taken care of and uses no oil. Changed sparkplugs (3 & 4 very sooty), wires, points ext. which improved situation temporarily but soon problem returned. On retuning from a trip also found oil in bilge (had rough weather and used engine, but determined (hopefully correctly) oil was coming from leaky gasket in old not used manual gas pump. No water in oil. On removing the spark plugs and checking compression found water in 3 and 4 but compression both normal (115 and 120). From reading decided likely head gasket (old asbestos type) so ordered new gasket set. Replaced head gasket and fuel pump gasket. Did not remove manifold as work was done in boat and have limited space. Could not see any obvious source of water from gasket damage but had a lot of water in exhaust valve. Also lots of soot on pistons 3 and 4 but everything else seemed OK. The replacement gasket was a Westabrook single gasket which stated "this single gasket replaced the need for a double gasket". Is this true or do you agree? Also I put in an anti-siphon to make sure.