X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Esgbradford
    • Mar 2011

Shake, rattle and roll

Hi there. Quick introduction first. I'm Eric, I bought a 1975 Newport 27 in February. The atomic four wasn't working (in fact, the previous owner used an outboard). I replaced the basics, etc, and got the engine running.

But she runs very rough. Ummm... that's not quite accurate. The whole boat vibrates and rattles very annoyingly when running much more than a idle. Perhaps "very annoyingly" is a bit of an understatement...

The boat does not rattle at idle, at idle in gear (FWD or REV), or at perhaps idle plus 10% in gear.

Anyone know what I should check? broken propeller, bent drive shaft, what have you?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Eric
    Aries Newport 27
    Portland, OR
    Eric
    Aries
    Newport 27
    Portland, OR
  • CalebD
    Afourian MVP
    • May 2007

I'm no expert.

Eric,
    I would have to guess that your engine alignment is out of true and the noise you hear is a result of the shaft shaking or vibrating.
    One item you must check is the engines mounting bolts. If they are loose then the engine can move around a little bit, enough to cause alignment issues.
    I would also guess that your Cutlass bearing and/or stuffing box are taking some end of the wobble as well which may actually be causing the vibrations. If the shaft is not true you can expect to hear and feel more vibrations from your engine and it is not good for any of the linkages.
    You will figure it out. Asking questions is a good start.
    If there is no noise in neutral but a lot of noise when in fwd or rev then it is most likely the shaft alignment.

Congrats on getting your A4 to turn over and welcome to the home of the Afourians.
    Last edited by CalebD; 09-20-2011, 11:26 PM. Reason: more
    Tartan 27 #328 owner born 1958
    A4 and boat are from 1967

Comment

• jpian0923
      Afourian MVP
      • Sep 2010