Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > General Maintenance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 104.32.110.220
Old 11-17-2014, 03:56 AM
Mahoneymik's Avatar
Mahoneymik Mahoneymik is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Tach not working.

Can anyone point me to, or describe the best way for me to troubleshoot my tachometer? It (along with most of my instruments) isn't working. I want to fix all of them, but I'd like to start with the tach. Then maybe engine oil temp.
Thanks for your help!
Michael.
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 32.211.28.40
Old 11-17-2014, 11:01 AM
Al Schober's Avatar
Al Schober Al Schober is offline
Afourian MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Uncasville, CT
Posts: 1,736
Thanks: 10
Thanked 343 Times in 262 Posts
You'll have to tell us what you have for a tach. Some tachs get their signal from the distributor, and have to be told how many cylinders in the engine. Others get their signal from the AC output of the alternator and have to be calibrated to account for variations in alternators and drive pullies.
Personally, I use a portable tune-up meter which attaches to the distributor and has a switch for # of cylinders.
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 104.32.110.220
Old 11-17-2014, 11:20 AM
Mahoneymik's Avatar
Mahoneymik Mahoneymik is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thank you Al!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Schober View Post
You'll have to tell us what you have for a tach. Some tachs get their signal from the distributor, and have to be told how many cylinders in the engine. Others get their signal from the AC output of the alternator and have to be calibrated to account for variations in alternators and drive pullies.
Personally, I use a portable tune-up meter which attaches to the distributor and has a switch for # of cylinders.
I'm sure it's whatever came with the '77 Catalina 30. But I'll check it.
I have a total rats nest that I have to try to figure out. :^/
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 161.213.49.150
Old 11-17-2014, 12:31 PM
JOHN COOKSON JOHN COOKSON is offline
Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,292
Thanks: 45
Thanked 706 Times in 525 Posts
If there are two wires on the coil - terminal disconnect the wire to the tach at the coil and the tach and then run a new temporary from coil - to the tach so you can figure out if the tach or wiring is shot.

TRUE GRIT
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 161.213.49.150
Old 11-17-2014, 01:28 PM
JOHN COOKSON JOHN COOKSON is offline
Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,292
Thanks: 45
Thanked 706 Times in 525 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mahoneymik View Post
most of my instruments isn't working. I want to fix all of them, but I'd like to start with the tach. Then maybe engine oil temp. Michael.
One more shot here.
If none of the gauges are working maybe there is no power to any of them. A volt meter will tell the story real quick.
When you are ready to go put up a post and I or one of the other forum members will tell you how to troubleshoot the gauges. Meanwhile check out the drawings and schematics section of the forum.
BTW: It's a water temp gauge not an oil temp gauge. (most likely)

TRUE GRIT

Do you have a copy of the Moyer A4 maintenance and repair manual?
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 166.137.8.123
Old 11-19-2014, 07:50 PM
Mahoneymik's Avatar
Mahoneymik Mahoneymik is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHN COOKSON View Post
One more shot here.
If none of the gauges are working maybe there is no power to any of them. A volt meter will tell the story real quick.
When you are ready to go put up a post and I or one of the other forum members will tell you how to troubleshoot the gauges. Meanwhile check out the drawings and schematics section of the forum.
BTW: It's a water temp gauge not an oil temp gauge. (most likely)

TRUE GRIT

Do you have a copy of the Moyer A4 maintenance and repair manual?
That's a great point. I'm going to look into that. I do have the maintenance and repair manual. I'll check it and the schematics section.
And thanks for the temp gauge correction.
It's so great to have all of you in these groups for guidance. Much appreciated!
-Michael.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
instruments, tach, tachometer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another tach installation question Ajax Electrical 2 08-29-2013 08:57 AM
Teleflex Tach Tar34 Ignition System 17 06-28-2012 12:04 AM
Video- Working Engine Sea Trials rpowers General Interest 9 04-29-2011 07:29 PM
I'm beginning to think my tach is incorrect Baltimore Sailor General Interest 9 10-10-2008 02:05 PM
Working on my A4 gives me great satisfaction Baltimore Sailor General Interest 6 06-05-2008 05:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Universal® is a registered trademark of Westerbeke Corporation

Copyright © 2004-2020 Moyer Marine Inc.

All Rights Reserved