• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • david rj
    • Sep 2007

Engine dies every few minutes

Hello-

I have been reading through the fuel related shutdown posts and I think that is what I have been experiencing. I am quite new to the A4 so I thought I would share my particular situation to see if any one can confirm the issue or pass on any helpful tips.

My A4 is very clean well maintained and starts perfectly with no issues. It has an electric fuel pump and a standard marine filter between tank and engine.

Until recently it was running and idling perfectly. However, now upon running the engine for several minutes (3-6) at average idle it cuts out. After it cuts it is almost immediately re-start-able but dies again after another short while. These start-die-start steps seem indefinitely repeatable. If I have the engine running w/ an above average idle (i.e. slightly revved) it doesn't die but rather wavers briefly (i.e. rpms dip and sounds as if it is about to die but doesn't) with approximately the same intervals.

I am assuming this is a fuel starvation related issue but not sure of which variety. Presently I assume the issue to be either a faulty/failed fuel pump or an issue w/ air in the gas line. Based on these symptoms can any one offer any more specific tips or insights?

Many thanks in advance.
  • jhwelch
    • Dec 2005

I bet if you put it in gear and run at around 1,800 rpm it dies within
    20 seconds. This has happened to me a lot in the past; the needle
    valve in the carb gets stuck in a partly open position so not enough
    gas is getting through.

If you can hear your electric fuel pump ticking over (or even better,
    if you disconnect the hose from the carb and fuel runs out at
    a reasonable rate) then you know it's not the pump.

You can try tapping on the float area of the carb to see if that
    will get the needle valve to drop. Or you can take the carb off
    and open it up (which is probably a good thing to do every now