X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • krazzz
    • Jul 2013

Engine hasn't started in 10+ years, what to know

Hello, I am new to the group and this is my first post. (I did search the forum but surprisingly didn't find this topic.)

I just aquired a boat with an Atomic 4 circa 1971. The guy I bought it from has had the boat for 5 years as he has been restoring it. He never started the motor and doesn't know much about it's history. The last registration on the boat is 2003 so I assume it was running about 10 years ago. I am new to sailboats but not to motors that have been sitting a long time. I have restored many "barn find" cars and motorcycles. Now to my question:

Is there anything special I need to know about a marine engine when trying to start one that has sat for a while? I will do the usual compression check, oil change, fresh gas, clean carb, and new plugs. What else do I need to do and/or look for? Thanks in advance for your help and I look forward to being a part of this forum.

The parts that I have the least knowledge about are the exhaust system and cooling system as they seem pretty "boat specific." Everything else seems pretty strait forward. An internal combustion engine is an internal combustion engine. If you have air, fuel, spark and compression at the proper timing it will run. Now the tricky part is getting those things to fall in line. From what I have read these engines are pretty reliable if the maintenance is good.
    Last edited by krazzz; 07-22-2013, 01:23 PM.
    1971 Ericson 32, Atomic 4
    1976 Catalina 22

Ludington, MI - Lake Michigan
  • Dave Neptune
    Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus
    • Jan 2007

U got it

krazz, first welcome to the Afourian Forum.

All the you mentioned pretty well covers it as far as getting an old motor started.