Suggested procedure for purging fuel system?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • NatySailor
    • Aug 2015

Suggested procedure for purging fuel system?

The vent for my fuel tank (a copper tube coming through the deck) snapped off and a lot of water got into the fuel tank. My mechanic said I should pump out the tank and purge the system up to the carb.

Any suggested procedures for doing this? I ordered a hand pump from Amazon and was hoping that would allow me to get most of the bad gas out of the tank from above through the fuel tank fill cap. Next I figured I could use the same pump from below and suck fuel through the system from somewhere before the carb.

As a final step, I was going to add some new gas and maybe some stabil to mop up any excess water.

I'm a bit of a newb to the A4 (and engines in general), so if anyone sees any problems or has suggested additions to this procedure, I'm all ears.

Best,
    NatySailor (Tartan 27/ 1963 Atomic 4 near Baltimore, MD)
  • Dave Neptune
    Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus
    • Jan 2007

Naty, if you have not run the engine it is no biggie! The water will just sit at the bottom of the tank. What you need to do is just snake your sucker tube down the tank to the lowest point and suck out the water. Once you start sucking fuel instead of water all will be fine. The fuel will not mix in a short time to kill the fuel. A good way to get to the lowest point is to remove the "pick up" tube and go down there. The pick up tube will be at the deepest point of the tank but not at the bottom so it won't suck up water and or the bottom dregs. Your sucker tube will get on down to the bottom.

If you did run the engine check for water in the separator first and if there is a "BUNCH" check the carb by pulling the main jet plug and catching what runs out to inspect for water. You may of "picked up some water off the bottom" or it is still below the "pick up"~a very good thing.

Dave Neptune

Comment