• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rigspelt
    Afourian MVP
    • May 2008

Prop, cruising RPMs and cruising speed

Originally posted by Silver Fox View Post
    We can cruise under engine at 6 knots without too much difficulty. Do not have a rpm display, so can't provide specifics...We are still experimenting, but have noticed the gains in speed drop off over 6.5 to 6.8 knots, when I have gunned the engine in flat seas. It is quite easy to get to those speeds, but much harder to get anything more. That's what I find, but I'm no expert. (1974 C&C 27 Mk II)
    Ralph, I am interested in your experience with the same boat we have, and I know others are interested in sharing experiences with props/cruising rpms/Atomic 4, so I started this new thread here. Hope that's OK with everyone.

I'm getting used to our new to us 1974 C&C 27 Mk II with A4 and original two-bladed prop. Have not had much flat water to experiment, and have not got around to optimizing the carb at idle and cruising speed, but I did install a tach. On the one run where I made some observations, I easily got to 6 knots at 1800 RPM but the stern exhaust tip sat just at or under the sea surface. Came up some when I sent the crew forward, and came up more when I eased the RPMs to 1400 at speed to 5-5.5. Temperature seemed to drop too when I did that, though that might have nothing to do with the exhaust tip dipping below the sea surface. Still experimenting.

The Mark II's have a shorter stern aft of the rudder than the later Marks, and a heavier stock rudder, so might be more prone to cockpit weight pressing the stern down. At cruising speed, a sailboat squats and the stern wave forms, bringing the sea surface up. In another post, I understand Don investigated and found that exhausting underwater does not affect back pressure significantly.
    1974 C&C 27
  • Silver Fox
    • Sep 2009

Stern Dip

Hello Rigspelt,