X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • toddster
    • Aug 2011

Restarting under sail vs motoring

I'm pretty new to the A4 and my new/old boat, but I've noticed something a bit odd when restarting the engine.

When we're on flat water, the engine starts or re-starts instantly. After we've been sailing, and the boat has been bouncing around, it has to crank for 15 - 20 seconds, needs a fair amount of throttle, and starts weakly.

Seems like it might be a fuel issue - something getting stirred up? I did drain out the old gas and change the oil/water separator filter before I started the engine for the first time. Fuel pump loosing prime?

Just wondering if these symptoms seem familiar. Obviously, it would be nice to have instant engine access while sailing, for those sphincter-tightening moments. (I've been sailing small boats with no engine at all up to this point, but now there's bigger more expensive things to break!)
  • edwardc
    Afourian MVP
    • Aug 2009

20 seconds is too long to crank with the raw water intake open! You may be flooding your muffler and backing water up into the exhaust manifold. Any time you have to crank more than 5-10 sec, you should close the water intake until the engine starts.

In fact, this may also be the cause of your hard starting. A properly designed exhaust system should have a raw-water feed loop that goes up above the waterline for all angles of heel, and should have an anti-siphon valve at the top of the loop.

Boats without an adequate amount of loop height or an anti-siphon valve may allow water to siphon into the manifold while under sail.

In addition, if your hot-section's riser is inadequate, it can allow water from the water-lift muffler to feed back into the manifold under certain angles of heel or pitch, depending on your muffler's location.

It's a real eye-opener how many production boats did/do not meet these requirements.