X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Capt.Terry
    • Oct 2006

No Spark Now? but sooty plugs before?

Don, I have been changing my plugs because of fouling since I bought my 1969 Irwin 31. Before when I changed the plugs the motor ran great, then the next time I run the engine one would be fouled out. clean and runs great. The plugs are not oily but the engine does smoke after the plugs start fouling. Now after the last time I "tried" to take the boat out. She ran good enough to get me out of the slip, in reverse, but when I put her in forward no power at all!! Almost like running on two cylinders, got as much speed as I could to get back in slip, put in reverse, motor died, well the next event is not pretty, thank goodness for the fender I put on the dock in the front of the slip. Anyway I put in new hotter plugs hoping they might last longer, No gas getting to cylinders, took off carb cleaned put back on, no gas to cylinders. Should not do this but poured fuel in carb. did not start. put gas in cylinders, did not start. Checked spark, no spark, but I had cleaned & set points before I first tried to start engine because after my problem with the motor and the dock, I did leave the Ignition switch on for two weeks??? The points where opened all that time. now the coil?? Thanks Capt. Terry

P.S. When I cleaned the carb the air mixture screw was only out about a half a turn?? I did adjust it to 1 1/2 turns before I tried to start the engine. also the engine did try to start when I first tried (before all the stuff I did after) but died not to hit again??
    Last edited by Capt.Terry; 02-05-2007, 09:51 AM. Reason: Forgot to put in important info
  • rgoff
    • Oct 2004

You might make sure your exhaust system is not clogged up with carbon. I have problems every few years from this. When you try to rev the engine up, the back pressure causes it to die. Mine would do this in neutral after it really got clogged up.
    Ralph
    1973 Ericson 27, "Hog Time"