X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MarkG
    • Apr 2024

Another Catalina 30/A4 Question

This past weekend, motoring out of a local harbor at idle, my A4 stalled and wouldn't restart. Tried several more times that day, but couldn't get the motor to start. To be specific, it turns over normally, but won't start.

This is my first year with the boat (1980 Catalina 30), first year with any sailboat with an inboard engine, and the engine has started right up and run smoothly all season. I have had an occasional whine, usually right after startup, that sounded like a belt slipping, but went away after warming up. Didn't seem to be a problem.

Secondly, I did not keep the raw water intake closed during extended cranking (had no idea I was supposed to). I could hear water coming out the stern while cranking, like it does when the motor is running. But the motor would not start.

Last week, I added Startron for gasoline engines (fuel treatment). Ran well for three hours under power on Saturday. Thinking maybe the Startron caused some gunk or deposits in the tank of fuel line to break loose and block something.

The other thing is that, normally, the gauges in the cockpit near the shift and throttle levers (fuel level, amps, oil pressure, and temp) all click on when I turn the key to the first notch. Now they do not. They all click on when I go one more notch to engage the starter, but go back off when I stop that.

So, I don't know if I have some electrical issue that's keeping it from starting, or a fuel issue, or something else. And now I'm concerned about whether I have water in my engine.