X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • steved
    • Dec 2008

Vibration under power

I'm new to this game as a 1st time boat owner and loving my 1977 E32. It has an Atomic 4. The boat has spent it's life on the Great Lakes and is now in Milwaukee. I am NOT a mechanic.

I have a vibration under power that begins to be noticable at about 1,200 RPM. At 2,000 the vibration is seemingly 4-5X the itensity that it is at 1,700-1,800. The engine in neutral seems smooth all the way up to 3,000 which has me thinking that the issue might be related to the prop or the shaft. However, the prop doesn't have a single nick in it, the shaft appears straight, and the cutlass bearing is solid and without play. It also seems that there is a knocking type noise associated with the vibration. The engine mounts appear to be solid and tight.

As I very slowly raise the RPMs from 1,800, at about 2,200 the engine quickly races up to 2,600, 2,700, and it's seems like the prop or shaft are just slipping at that point. I immediately back down. This condition seems to be easy to reproduce and is a consistent reaction.

Are the two conditions, the vibration and the seeming slip of the shaft or prop separate issues? How do I begin to sort this out? I'm not mechanical but love putsing and learning new things.

The boat came with Don's Manual for which I am grateful. But, again, not being mechanical, it could take me a year to even begin to figure out where to look and what to check. I could use some pointers and pointing in logical directions. THANKS!!!
  • Don Moyer
    • Oct 2004

Steved,