Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Good Guys

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26   IP: 97.93.70.7
Old 07-25-2019, 01:24 PM
Dave Neptune Dave Neptune is offline
Afourian MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Arrowhead Ca.
Posts: 4,049
Thanks: 429
Thanked 384 Times in 266 Posts
Changes

JTG, after looking at your photos there is something I don't like. The engine ground looks poor and not very well located. First the "grey" wire just looks to be redundant from block to block. Your connections SHOULD NOT be on the head studs. The soft electrical connections will not maintain good "torque pressure" as they will slowly yield over time. Take those connections to a starter bolt or the flywheel cover and re-torque the studs.

When grounding on the head keep in mind that the full electrical load is going through the head which is insulated by the head-gasket and relying on the stud which is fastened with sealant to get the ground to the block the ultimate goal.

Dave Neptune
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Dave Neptune For This Useful Post:
Administrator (07-25-2019), edwardc (07-26-2019), GregH (07-26-2019), thatch (07-26-2019)
  #27   IP: 137.200.32.22
Old 07-25-2019, 02:51 PM
joe_db's Avatar
joe_db joe_db is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,449
Thanks: 48
Thanked 413 Times in 306 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Neptune View Post
JTG, after looking at your photos there is something I don't like. The engine ground looks poor and not very well located. First the "grey" wire just looks to be redundant from block to block. Your connections SHOULD NOT be on the head studs. The soft electrical connections will not maintain good "torque pressure" as they will slowly yield over time. Take those connections to a starter bolt or the flywheel cover and re-torque the studs.

When grounding on the head keep in mind that the full electrical load is going through the head which is insulated by the head-gasket and relying on the stud which is fastened with sealant to get the ground to the block the ultimate goal.

Dave Neptune
This is why I run a ground wire to my alternator
Reply With Quote
  #28   IP: 130.76.112.27
Old 07-25-2019, 04:02 PM
JTG1160 JTG1160 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 17
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wow, missed that hose from the crank case to the carb. Need to find or replace that but what's the benefit of routing crank case fumes to the carb? Temp?
Reply With Quote
  #29   IP: 130.76.112.27
Old 07-25-2019, 05:13 PM
JTG1160 JTG1160 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 17
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Or I guess it's just a convenient way to get rid of fumes?

Also your thinking the "grey" wire can be removed? Really didn't understand it myself but that was already on there when I got it.

Great catch on the engine ground to the head studs, will fix that.
Reply With Quote
  #30   IP: 100.36.65.17
Old 07-26-2019, 11:54 AM
edwardc's Avatar
edwardc edwardc is offline
Afourian MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 2,207
Thanks: 55
Thanked 273 Times in 189 Posts
I would recommend using one of the starter bolts for the ground. The starter is far and away the largest current draw in the system, and using the starter bolt keeps that path to the starter to a minimum.
__________________
@(^.^)@ Ed
1977 Pearson P-323 "Dolce Vita"
with rebuilt Atomic-4

Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to edwardc For This Useful Post:
Administrator (07-26-2019), JTG1160 (07-26-2019), Sam (07-29-2019)
  #31   IP: 137.103.82.227
Old 07-26-2019, 02:29 PM
joe_db's Avatar
joe_db joe_db is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,449
Thanks: 48
Thanked 413 Times in 306 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by edwardc View Post
I would recommend using one of the starter bolts for the ground. The starter is far and away the largest current draw in the system, and using the starter bolt keeps that path to the starter to a minimum.
Very good idea!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joe_db For This Useful Post:
JTG1160 (07-26-2019)
  #32   IP: 130.76.112.30
Old 08-06-2019, 11:00 AM
JTG1160 JTG1160 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 17
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wanted to send out an update and had one other question. After all the above steps and suggestions (thanks to all), finished up the final connections and put some clean gas in and started up the engine. Seems to run very smoothly but one thing I notice is that the water intake line seems remarkably small, is there a standard intake size for A4's?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking For Reputable Early Model A4 Mechanic In Southern Calfornia Jim Bates General Maintenance 8 04-22-2016 05:18 PM
A-4 Mechanic in CT rickal Good Guys 2 12-30-2013 10:57 AM
catalina 30 on Lake Ontario rodadams62 Introductions 9 12-13-2013 12:45 AM
Help I need a A4 mechanic in Florida mm65 Good Guys 1 09-11-2008 09:24 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Universal® is a registered trademark of Westerbeke Corporation

Copyright © 2004-2019 Moyer Marine Inc.

All Rights Reserved