X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Pater
    • Oct 2008

3 out of 4 ain't bad... isn't good either

The 1969 A4 In the Irwin 28 was sitting for 11 years when I bought her. after some work, I was able to get it to start and run on 3 cylinders. The #1 cyl. has an exhaust valve stuck open. As a novice, I was unaware that I ought to shut off the raw water petcock when having to crank the engine beyond the few seconds it had taken at the beginning of the season. Now, after getting water in the oil, and finding I have 70lbs compression in #2, 75 lsb in #3 and 80lbs in #4. I am looking at pulling the head, the manifold, and valve case cover to get at the two repairs I think I might be able to do myself and in the boat. I have worked on small air cooled flat heads before so I am aware of the need to be careful in releaving the torque in a pattern, then gently prying between the two gaskets before wedging then lifting. Any suggestions on removing the head, or pointers on freeing the stuck valve would be greatly appreciated.
  • msauntry
    • May 2008

Might be able to free up the valve with a bent screwdriver, and a few oil changes can get rid of the water in the oil, so you might get off pretty easy! There are other posts here that go into detail on the valve/bent screwdriver trick. Browse around those for a bit and see if you think it will work in your situation.

Good luck!

Comment

• sastanley
      Afourian MVP
      • Sep 2008

Pater..

Welcome to the group..I am a newbie as well...and have read so much on this board it makes my head spin, but I already have my (new to me) A-4 running better than it probably has in 10 years.

Start off by doing a lot of searching and a lot of reading. You can likely get this motor running better without pulling the head and all the extra work you are anticipating. If you don't have it already, I highly recommend as your first repair tool to buy Moyer's book. It is the bible, and worth its weight in gold.