X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Crash
    • Aug 2010

Cutlass bearing

How can you tell if a cutlass (sp?) bearing needs to be replaced? The original owner replaced it about 9 years ago and the reason being was...just because it was a 20 year old boat. I personally don't see any "issues" but I will inspect the prop as soon as she's hauled out.
    sigpic
    1979 C&C36 'Dionysus'
  • RUSSELL
    • Apr 2011

Crash,

I am a newbie, but I would think you would evaluate as any other bearing:

(1) Any scoring on the friction surface (the propellar shaft)?

(2) Bearing snug in the strut (housing)?

(3) Ample bearing material; not excessively worn?

(4) Does the propellar shaft fit within tolerance; is "play" within reason?

I can't see why you would replace a cutlass bearing if these check out, regardless of how old it is.

My cutlass bearing has rubber components. I suppose those will fail eventaully; I have no idea how long they should last.

I don't know if I am missing something here.
    1978 Catalina 30

Comment

• CalebD
      Afourian MVP
      • May 2007

Originally posted by Crash View Post
      How can you tell if a cutlass (sp?) bearing needs to be replaced?
      Do you feel any vibrations coming from the engine when underway? the shaft? Does the shaft make any noises at different rpms? Is there 1/16" or more of play between the shaft and Cutlass bearing?
      If you answered yes to any one of these questions then maybe it is time to check your Cutlass bearing, engine mounts and shaft coupling.

Originally posted by Crash View Post
      The original owner replaced it about 9 years ago and the reason being was...just because it was a 20 year old boat. I personally don't see any "issues" but I will inspect the prop as soon as she's hauled out.