X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • smp
    • Dec 2011

New A4 owner

Hi All. I just bought a C&C 32 with an A4. I live on lake Ontario so winterizing is necessary up here. The previous owner winterized the boat, including the motor. I had a mechanic come and have a look at the motor last week and we did a compression test as well as started it up for a few seconds to make sure it fired. Now, it had/has antifreeze in it. Should I be worried about whatever may have been pumped out and try to replace it? We literally only ran the engine no more than a few seconds. However, we did a lot of hand cranking for the compression test. I'm not a mechanic and I'm new to A4s and marine motors in general. Did the hand cranking and starting push all of the antifreeze out of the motor? Should I be worried?

The other question is about compression. Cylinder 4 was lower than the rest. The mechanic put a little bit of oil into the cylinder and we tried the compression test again. Still low. He told me this is likely a stuck valve rather than worn rings. What do you folks think? The readings on the cold engine, hand cranking were: 75/75/75/60

I will be ordering the manual. Right now though, temps are getting down there, we've had a few frozen nights already.
    -Steve

Suhana, C&C 32
    Toronto
  • edwardc
    Afourian MVP
    • Aug 2009

First, welcome to the forum! This is the right place to come for all things A4!

Your mechanic is right. Lack of improvement with oil in the cylinder says it's valves, not rings. Shoot some Marvel Mystery Oil into each cylinder over the winter, it'l help loosen them in the spring. Those numbers are a little low.

As for the antifreeze, as long as you did not open the raw water intake for your tests, you should be fine. No harm comes to the block if the cooling jacket is partially (or even completely) empty, as long as there's no plain water in it.