• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • gezas
    Frequent Contributor
    • Mar 2010

Zenith idle question

Hi, this is my first time here, I didn't want to bother anybody before but now I need some help!

I have a late model Zenith carburetor in my 1967 Cal36 that I bought last year.Previous owner - for 20 years - took care of it and had the carburetor rebuilt 5 years ago.
    The engine is running fine when higher RPM - no smoke, steady - but when the throttle is being pushed back toward idle, it would rather stall at 1500 RPM. I have rebuilt and cleaned the carburetor over and over and once managed to have it idle at 700 RPM. I let it idle for long but after I came back from a sail and started the engine again it would do the same as before. Down to 1500 and stall. Since, I've cleaned the fuel tank, I ordered and installed the Moyer inline fuel filter kit, replaced the screen in the sediment bowl....but still no idle?
    I am running out of ideas? I would order the new carburetor but I am afraid it might do the same as the cause could be somewhere else? ...but where? Timing, leak around the manifold...? If I can be assured that it is definitely carburetor problem, I would immediately order the new!
    Thank you!
  • Marian Claire
    Afourian MVP
    • Aug 2007

How is your idle jet set? I’m reaching here but try turning it in all the way. I had an air leak in my throttle shaft that only showed up above 2200 RPM. Maybe you have an air leak at low RPM that is leaning out the mix. Dan S/V Marian Claire

Comment

• gezas
      Frequent Contributor
      • Mar 2010

Zenith idle speed

Thank you Dan,

I tried to set idle all the way in, all the way out. Usualy makes not much of a difference, except all the way in engine would stall sometimes or would just run too rough.
      The problem is that I can't really set idle speed when I can't slow the engine down below 1500 RPM? If I could make it run @ 7-800, than I could?