• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JasperWindvane
    • Jan 2006

Cooling Issue, FWC, too Hot.. REad on..

Here is my problem.. posted by another but just like me:
    "My engine was running fine then started overheating. There is white billowing smoke or vapor coming from the exhaust. The engine seems to run smoothly but the smoke (vapor) worries me as well as the overheating. The raw water strainer is clean. Could it be the thermostat, and how can I check it? "
    My engine has been running very well. Then?? I started having the temperture of the water get hot.. this is a FWC engine with a heat exchanger.

Questions: what should the water temperature be with a heat exchanger system? My engine has been running in the 160 degree range. Is that too hot. The engine water went all the way to 190 and I freaked out.

I am not a mechanic. What can I do? I am in New Hampshire and my boat, a Bristol 32, is moored.
    Any help ..

I am nuts over this.. can't even sleep.
  • Michael L
    Frequent Contributor
    • May 2005

A few questions.. Are you still getting good water flow through your exhaust? Does the steam have a slightly sweet smell to it? Is your coolant level unchanged? Has the engine oil emulsified (turned grey)?
    Michael

Comment

• JasperWindvane
      • Jan 2006

Cooling issue ,, FWC,, too hot

I seem to get good flow.. the water comes out as Don Moyer says Batched.. so it comes out with a splash and then another splash.. etc. I will check the water though.

The smell.. I think when I sniffed I only smelled exhaust smell..

The temperature of the water was up to 190 and even a tad higher.

The coolant lever has not changed.. in fact I checked it and it was right to the top..

I change the engine oil often.. After running the engine for awhile, I will pump out two quarts and put in two fresh quarts.

When I changed, the oil was dirty, black but not grey.