• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • RossBarker
    Frequent Contributor
    • Jul 2023

coughing carburetor after electronic ignition install

Hello everybody,
    My name is Ross, and I am recently new to this forum. I own a C+C Redwing 30 with an atomic 4. I bought my boat around 4 years ago and ever since I've had problems with the engine stalling out. It will run great for around 2 minutes before it starts to sputter and eventually stalls out. The guy that I bought it off of did not take it out for about 2 years so the boat was sitting unused for a while. I just recently changed my point system to electronic ignition and retimed my engine, and since I did that, the engine has been stalling out a lot quicker, my carburetor is coughing out gas, and I am getting little power when it does run. I am new to fixing engines and don't really know where to start. I figured I'd come to this forum to get some questions answered. It is greatly appreciated!
    Thank you
    -Ross Barker
  • capnward
    Afourian MVP
    • Aug 2012

Welcome to the forum. You have come to the right place. Start with the carb. Sounds like a fuel delivery issue. Time to remove the carb, remove, inspect and run thin wires around in the jets especially the idle jet, and put the carb back on with new gaskets. Also dress the seat of the float valve with the wooden dowel available in the Moyer carb rebuild kit and clean the carb interior. The float adjustment should be checked. At the same time replace any fuel filters. I do this process every spring. This is a good thing for an A4 owner to know how to do. In my experience fuel issues are the most common. Get a Moyer manual if you don't already have one. There could also be an exhaust blockage but that is less likely. Or possibly the fuel tank vent is clogged, preventing fuel flow.

Comment

• Dave Neptune
      Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus
      • Jan 2007