• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mo
    Afourian MVP
    • Jun 2007

Lots of water in cylinders then base pan

Hello All.

I am new to the atomic 4 and this is my first go around with one. I recently purchased a C&C 30 and started on the engine a couple of weeks ago. I have systematically learned how to put in points, condenser, coil etc just from reading here on this site...got some spark going.

Then didn't have compression on No 1....took head off, reseated valves, new head gasket and all torqued as per Don's and friends instructions in previous posts....all good to go.

Boat is home in my yard so easy to get at. Fired her up last Saturday and engine sounds good. Ran smooth...no knocks...sounds really good. Turned on water and starts to bog....then stalls...hard to start.

Inspection revealed water in base pan....did the change 3 times; oiled upper chambers etc. Still hard to start next couple of days. Replaced fuel pump thinking fuel problem. Had carb off and cleaned it up good but boat hasn't really run long enough with water to see if all is well.

Today got it going again and took my time before turning on water... It ran smooth until I opened the valve and started to bog and quit. I pulled plugs and there was water in every one of them...and lots. Had some water in the base pan again too but not much this time because I shut the valve when the engine stalled.
    - had water in all four cylinders that sprayed out when I turned it over with plugs out.
    - has good compression on all four cylinders when checked following todays developments.

I have been reading posts regarding this type of thing and perhaps someone has had these symptoms. I first thought I had problem with exhaust water getting back in because of a mistake I made somewhere or secondary to a blockage in the exhaust system. Now ?? Now I am leaning toward a leak in the intake manifold or worse. Any advice on a plan of attack appreciated.

Best
    Maurice
    Mo

"Odyssey"
    1976 C&C 30 MKI