• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • dcsavitzky
    Frequent Contributor
    • Nov 2008

breather tube

Hello All,

I have broken the flexible metal tube that connects the valve cover to the flame arrester. Any ideas where I can get a new one? I don't know what to call it, so I don't know how to find it on the internet or ask for it when I call an auto parts place. Is there some rubber alternative (like the "slash tube" on the newer model A4? Is there a problem with plugging the hole and running the engine for now?

Thanks.

David
  • Easy Rider
    Afourian MVP
    • Feb 2007

Our host has them listed under breather tube - $20.00

(OVAL_11_203) Breather hose (late model) - valve cover to carburetor
    Chuck

71 Ranger 29

Comment

• ndutton
      Afourian MVP
      • May 2009

I have no experience with it but I wonder if a late model intake air horn and flame arrestor can be fitted to an early model carb (like you have) which could then accommodate the late model slash tube. Perhaps a call to Ken at MMI is in order. He'll know.

Of course, there's always that three letter abomination that manages blowby well but introduces subtle tuning adventures. Man, I can't believe I'm saying it but its initials are P-C-V. In all fairness, it's one of your options.

You will want to impart a negative pressure on the crankcase in any case. Closing off the breather negates this.
      Last edited by ndutton; 05-14-2013, 01:11 AM.
      Neil
      1977 Catalina 30
      San Pedro, California
      prior boats 1987 Westsail 32, 1970 Catalina 22
      Had my hands in a few others

Comment

• dcsavitzky
        Frequent Contributor
        • Nov 2008

Thanks.

The late model breather tube ("slash tube"?) would also require changing over the valve cover and the flame arrester. The model I have keeps the arrester vertical.