X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • azazzera
    • Aug 2014

electrical panel question

I have just installed a blue sea dc only panel. Im studying the installation instructions and have a question on running the negative wires. There is a negative bus on the panel but I don't see the need to run the wire from each load directly back to the panel bus. my plan was to run them to a location close to the panel on a separate wire block then have that block connected back to the battery with a wire that can handle the current of all the wires. I think it will be cleaner and less congested on the panel doing it this way. Is there a problem with doing it this way.
  • ndutton
    Afourian MVP
    • May 2009

There's no electrical reason not to do it as you described BUT you may still want to run each circuit negative as far as possible along with the positive, even twist them together, all the way to the distribution panel. The reason is so the current flowing in the conductor pair (equal but opposite) cancels out the Gauss field surrounding the single conductors. Your compass will be happier.
    Neil
    1977 Catalina 30
    San Pedro, California
    prior boats 1987 Westsail 32, 1970 Catalina 22
    Had my hands in a few others

Comment

• hanleyclifford
      Afourian MVP
      • Mar 2010

Originally posted by azazzera View Post
      I have just installed a blue sea dc only panel. Im studying the installation instructions and have a question on running the negative wires. There is a negative bus on the panel but I don't see the need to run the wire from each load directly back to the panel bus. my plan was to run them to a location close to the panel on a separate wire block then have that block connected back to the battery with a wire that can handle the current of all the wires. I think it will be cleaner and less congested on the panel doing it this way. Is there a problem with doing it this way.