Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Fuel System

#1   IP: 166.20.224.10
Old 08-28-2012, 02:18 PM

Fuel pump/OPS wiring

I was comparing my fuel pump/OPS wiring to what is in the Atomic 4 parts manual and found differences. My OPS has three terminals. One connected to the coil +, one to the pump and one to the coil -. The manual shows two terminals, one to the coil +, and one common to the pump and solenoid R. So what is the difference? Electrically what is the solenoid R connection +, - , other? I also wanted to add a low pressure warning buzzer. The only way I can figure out how to do it with my OPS, would be a relay, operated by the pump connection (12V ?) that would trip the relay coil and supply 12 V to the buzzer, when the voltage to the pump is cut off?

MAHAHO '80 Catalina C30 TRBS # 1704
  #2   IP: 206.125.176.5
Old 08-28-2012, 03:19 PM
Afourian MVP

Jeff, I am not an expert on this, but I don't think the coil (-) is a ground...it should have nothing except the points or EI (-) connected. The ground for the OPSS should be to a real ground source, OR what I've more commonly seen is the NPT base itself that screws into the block is ground.

The coil (+) is hot anytime the key is on, as its 12v supply is fed by the purple wire from the ignition switch.

Sometimes, there is a "hot only during cranking" terminal on the starter to power the OPSS/fuel pump while cranking. I don't know what that is labeled. Most people seem to think that a few seconds of cranking should generate enough oil pressure to trip the OPSS closed and send 12v to the fuel pump.

Man, do I love my mechanical fuel pump..if it's been sitting a while, a couple pumps on the bale right after I open the intake and my fuel pressure gauge shows 2.5 PSI and off I go. Otherwise, it instantly begins pumping with the first revolution of the flywheel.
"Holiday" - '89 Alura 35 #109