Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Safety

#1   IP: 24.224.152.244
Old 03-05-2014, 08:37 PM
Afourian MVP

Smile Pain in the Neck...

Shawn and Russ mentioned tell tales in a previous thread and there's something to be said for having tell tales on the stays and not looking to the mast head all the time for wind direction. Racing is different, of course, but for general sailing tell tales on the stays are just fine.

I've been sailing since 1999...my lowest mileage year was 780 nm (my fist year with a boat) and the highest was 2235 nm if memory serves me....generally hang in the 17-1800 nautical miles yearly. That's allot of looking up! The first number of years I never had neck pain...could sail days on end and nothing hurt. Past few years though the neck pain set in and it likely is Degenerative Disk Disease...I know this and how to treat it so why bother getting the tests only to be told what I've told others for years.

Degenerative Disk Disease sounds like something pretty serious. Well, it's painfull and a nuisance. It's just a medical term created to denote the obvious ...we are wearing out. It can happen in your 30's, 40's...whenever. It's generally caused by OVERUSE and CONSTANT movement of the spine...typically classed as lumbar DDD or Cervical DDD. It's not the end of the world, it's not as serious as the doc's all say and the term "suck it up princess" has come to my mind occasionally. It's actually normal wear and tear and there is a movement in the medical community to actually refrain from putting such a serious sounding name to the condition.