Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Troubleshooting

#1   IP: 142.68.205.144
Old 09-17-2011, 10:56 PM
Frequent Contributor

Cool Idles great, no power in midrange, then revs freely

Hello. Different Moir here, but one who knows how to spell. And certainly no expert with the A4!

I'm trying to help out an old friend with his A4. My background is in outboards so I'm a little out of my depth. CDI I can handle, but what's this distributor thing? And 4 strokes; isn't that two too many?

My friend has been laid up half the summer with engine troubles. Mostly his problem has been with lack of power and the engine suddenly dying on him. Dockside, I went though the carb and didn't find much. Later we conclusively determined that there was a problem with the electronic ignition system as the ignition module's output to the coil disappeared the moment trouble struck. After obtaining new parts, we found that the particular problem was the optical pickup in the distributor.

After we replaced both the pickup and the module, the engine started, ran and idled very well. It revved in neutral, holding reasonable RPMs, as you would expect. It seemed to reverse under load fine (we were on a mooring), but this was the extend of the load testing we did.

Today he tried to take the boat out. In forward he had very little power, no matter how far forward he put the throttle. I went down and had a look, thinking that it probably needed a timing adjustment since we had made that out-of-gear, but no adjusting the timing helped. Essentially the engine would bog after getting off idle with a hollow sound coming from the carb like it was lugging.