Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Overhaul

#1   IP: 172.56.39.221
Old 04-22-2017, 07:22 PM

Water jacket questions

1. Am I correct that the area the water flows through is called the water jacket? I'm assuming that based on its cover being called the water jacket cover.

2. Now that I've got it open any advice on cleaning it?

3. Any advice on protecting it. High temp primer or something?

4. What's the bolt or screw in the lower left of the pic? Is it a drain for the water jacket?

Thanks!
Attached Images

Ericson 35 - #282
  #2   IP: 96.244.11.68
Old 04-22-2017, 11:50 PM

I'm new to all of this Kiki, having just rebuilt my first A4, but I'll give it a shot and let the others correct me.

Yes, it is a water jacket. A water jacket is just a water filled cooling chamber.

Personally, I would mechanically clean it first, scraping and brushing out as much as you can, then soaking in muriatic acid to really clean it.

Protecting it is done by installing a fresh water cooling system to keep it from corroding away again. I don't think there is anything that you could coat it with that would both protect it and allow heat to flow away from the pistons and head.

That bolt is a drain. Mine had a piece of brass tubing about 6" long in it, with a cap on the end.

Hope this helps and we'll see how many corrections I get.
  #3   IP: 172.222.238.142
Old 04-23-2017, 12:12 PM
Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus

Thanked 1,289 Times in 839 Posts
Kiki, I had E-35 #136 for 35 years~great boat.

The inside does not look all that bad. If you have the head off you can use a small "fraid" cable or a "bent" coat hanger in a drill motor and chip away. Just knock the loose stuff off and vacuum out the water jacket. I did this once a long long time ago.