Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Electrical

#1   IP: 142.68.119.93
Old 09-07-2008, 12:31 PM
Afourian MVP

Schematic - draft for new ignition panel

This my amateur attempt to plan rewiring a new ignition panel on the old boat. Alternator output goes direct to Battery post on starter, and house and engine batteries will be separated. Feel free to comment on wire sizes or anything else.

Warning: Seek professional advice before modifying your boat. I posted these sketches to seek advice for my boat, not give advice to others. I am not an engineer or mechanic.

UPDATED 31 Dec 2009:
Attached Images

Last edited by rigspelt; 12-31-2009 at 09:52 PM. Reason: Moved schematic draft to one thread.
  #2   IP: 142.68.122.25
Old 09-10-2008, 06:00 AM
Afourian MVP

Editted to clarify:

I am still trying to figure out ignition panel harness wire sizes and ignition key amperage specs. For a typical Atomic 4 setup, what are the following current draws?

1. Yellow/red wire from ignition key "S" to starter solenoid: __ amps inrush, __ amps cranking.
2. Purple wire from ignition key "I" to coil positive terminal: __ amps.
3. Ignition key spec for maximum amperage: __ amps.

Thanks.

Last edited by rigspelt; 09-12-2008 at 05:35 AM.
  #3   IP: 70.108.149.120
Old 09-11-2008, 12:27 AM
Afourian MVP

Rigsy,

I love this stuff.

(1) The starter probably doesn’t draw more than 125 amps. That’s well over a kilowatt of power. I can turn the engine with my hands. I’m not 1 KW strong.

I don’t know what inrush means. If it is the current at the very instant the key is turned, I suspect the draw is about 800 amps – about what a modest battery can deliver (cranking amps). The starter is pretty much a dead short when it isn’t turning. Battery voltage sags. But as soon as the starter starts turning, back-EMF will cut the current way back.