Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > General Maintenance

#1   IP: 24.193.42.223
Old 08-19-2010, 08:50 PM

Pulled off the head, need advice on next steps

Hi All,

It took about a week of spray-spray tap-tap, but I finally got my head off in order to replace it with a used head I got from MM.

I'm not an experienced mechanic so I'm looking for some feedback on these images I took.

1. It looks to me like the valve on cyl 3 is stuck in the closed position. How do I open that?

2. Whats the best/safest way to remove all the gunk from the head and inside the cylinders. Most of this is gasket material from prying up the head.

3. The studs you see in their posts....Can i just keep these in when I put the new head on? The ones that came out are studs that got removed along with their nuts. I'm going to replace these.

4. It appears that there is some stuff stuck down inside the valve of cyl 1. Any way to get at that stuff without removing the valves?
Attached Images

#2   IP: 216.115.121.253
Old 08-19-2010, 09:35 PM
Afourian MVP

Did you mean to say the valve is stuck closed? Usually the valves stick open and the spring can't close it.
If your valve is stuck in the closed position, then somethings really broken down in the camshaft. Can you turn the motor over with a hand crank and watch the valves to see if they move up.
Gentle scraping and a shop vac to suck up the goo from that mess. Don't scrape in to the base metal; cast iron is soft compared to paint knifes and scraper blades.
Get it clean enough to eat off of and you will be close.

Russ

"Since when is napping doing nothing?"
  #3   IP: 138.88.73.244
Old 08-19-2010, 10:31 PM
Afourian MVP

Hi trb,

You need to clean everything. Do not under any circumstances put the motor back together with all that gunk in there.