Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Owner Discussion Groups > Discussion Groups > Newport

#1   IP: 72.72.116.209
Old 01-06-2012, 01:08 PM

In addition to the engine...

So I have a new custom holding tank on the way from Ocean Link in Rhode Island and have decided to go with a Plastimo flexible water tank for now (cheapest cost alternative). Now I am on to sorting out the wiring to my mast. The PO drilled through the deck about a foot away from the mast (on the opposite side of the opening in the mast naturally) and ran the wires exposed over to the 2" hole in the mast. The sealant at the hole has held so far and so far only the insulation on the antenna wire has decomposed. There are 4 sets of quick connects (corroded) stuffed inside the 2" hole including the antenna.

I am not an electrical engineering genius but it seems to me that there must be a much better way to handle all of this. How is this set up on other folks boats with deck stepped M\masts? Does anyone know of any resources that discuss repairs to this area?

Apologies again for an off topic post

In addition to issues with my A4 engine in my 1978 Newport 30 I have issues with my water and holding tanks. I hope it is not too far off topic to ask about this here. You folks give the best advice available -for the price. My admiral will not sail with a hint of head smell - if she doesn't sail I don't sail if you know what I mean so this is serious.

The PO installed a 25 gallon Nauta flexible holding tank in 1996 - I don't smell it but she does. Also the original 70 gallon plastic fresh water tank under the v berth has an unstopable leak at the supply fitting - just can't get it tight enough to hold water. There is no access panel to the interior of the tank to allow tightening of a fitting from both sides.