Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Troubleshooting

#1   IP: 172.58.157.214
Old 07-06-2021, 09:35 AM

Milky oil. :(

So in a car I’d say well the head gasket is the primary suspect. Can I assume the same with this engine? I read on another thread about the gasket replacement and it doesn’t sound too hard, I am a mechanic by trade. Anything I should be aware of particularly with this engine?
I’ll keep researching on my own, just looking for advice from anyone with experience.
Thanks!
Edited to add, yes I did overhear the engine . Sometimes my own stupidity surprises me. The engine ran with out water. I checked the water pump afterwards and the impellers were still in good shape. I didn’t have the seacocks open and ran for about 45 minutes.
Attached Images

Last edited by Airshac; 07-06-2021 at 09:58 AM. Reason: Additional info
  #2   IP: 104.174.83.118
Old 07-06-2021, 10:08 AM
Afourian MVP

Thanked 2,208 Times in 1,425 Posts
I'd start with two tests before taking things apart, a compression test and a water jacket pressure test. The combination of the two tests may (not guaranteed) give an indication of where the incursion happened. If it was indeed the head gasket the compression test should indicate it. If it was the water jacket, water pump or manifold the compression test will be good and the water jacket pressure test will fail. In the meantime, squirt some oil into the spark plug holes and turn the engine over regularly, even daily if you can. Wherever the water came from it can wreak havoc if things rust up and the repair will become much bigger.

Once this is behind us, do you have a plan so the oversight never happens again?
prior boats 1987 Westsail 32, 1970 Catalina 22
Had my hands in a few others

Last edited by ndutton; 07-06-2021 at 10:24 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to ndutton For This Useful Post:
TimBSmith (07-08-2021)
  #3   IP: 165.225.20.156