Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Owner Discussion Groups > Discussion Groups > Newport

#1   IP: 65.110.214.40
Old 09-05-2019, 09:19 PM

Question My task list needs some sorting - Newport C&C 28

First off, I'm a newbie at the boat owner job. So this is going to be somewhat disorganised, and I suppose I'm looking for advice on what I *must* tackle, what I have to tackle, what I can tackle when I get to it, and what isn't really that important.

Right off the git go, this boat had mold and mildew pretty much on or under every surface that wasn't immediately visible. I've tackled the worst of this already - basically washing every surface I can get to easily and a few that took some interesting work. This effort was massively worthwhile, and although not yet 100% done, I no longer end up with a headache and bronchitis after a day on the boat (I'm somewhat sensitive to mold in the air)

1) biggest single issue in my books is the cockpit sole, for one, when the A4 was last overhauled (about 3 years ago now) they cut out a large chunk of the sole to get the engine out. Why? I have NO idea -- I can see quite clearly that even I could have hauled it out through the companionway gap and then out the door. That has been bolted back in and has 2x2 or 1x2 supports under the cutout, and I have a nice wooden rack in the sole covering that. (there are pics, I will try to attach) Furthermore, the tiller post has a huge steel plate around it bolted down from the top of the sole, and two long steel angle brackets on the underside. My binnacle and the support stand are *both* quite wobbly, and on the underside of that there is a fairly large 5/8" plywood sheet that is de-laminating rapidly.