Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > General Interest

#1   IP: 199.173.224.31
Old 04-01-2014, 08:54 AM
Afourian MVP

Thanked 1,026 Times in 721 Posts
Gauge oddities part 2

Some may remember my fuel pressure issues that I now suspect were caused by the expansion and contraction of the fluid in the gauge. I studied the little rubber plug on top of the gauge used to fill it with glycerine and cut off just enough of it to make a small hole. Voila! Instant gain from 2 PSI to 4 PSI on the gauge Note this only works if the gauge is near vertical unless you want glycerine all over the place

Second thing was my Isspro vacuum gauge. It was always kind of erratic and I assumed it was because the hose is a loose fit on the barb. I got some tiny size wire ties to tighten the hose on and it did not cure the issue. I could reach around behind the gauge and make the needle jump still by jiggling the hose. Hmm.... Jiggling the WIRES also made the needle move. Seems the light bulb sticks in just far enough to sometimes touch the gauge mechanism. I switched to a red LED bulb awhile ago and can't recall if the original bulb did this too. The LED doesn't look any bigger. I'll be modding the light holder to not stick in quite so far this weekend. 1/8" will do it.
  #2   IP: 107.0.6.242
Old 04-01-2014, 09:49 AM
Afourian MVP

Talking

The best way to solve an erratic gauge issue is the use of a "snubber", available at McMaster. http://www.mcmaster.com/#catalog/120/589/=rciej8

Last edited by hanleyclifford; 04-01-2014 at 09:55 AM.
  #3   IP: 199.173.224.31
Old 04-01-2014, 10:41 AM
Afourian MVP

True if the issue is in the vacuum itself jumping around.
Not gonna help the light hitting the gauge mechanism though. Depending on how the light was twisted the reading was going from 3 to 20 inches.