Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 67.253.8.181
Old 02-20-2021, 11:57 AM
Larry in Maine Larry in Maine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Rockport, Maine
Posts: 4
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Instruments

My Sabre 28 has the following gauges: Water temp, oil pressure, fuel, and ammeter. I want to add a tachometer and eliminate one of the existing gauges so I don't have to drill another hole. I also have a battery monitor for my solar panel that gives me data about the status of the batteries. So I was thinking that the ammeter is redundant and should be the one to eliminate. What do you think?
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 155.186.122.195
Old 02-20-2021, 12:52 PM
Dave Neptune Dave Neptune is online now
Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Arrowhead Ca.
Posts: 4,376
Thanks: 515
Thanked 636 Times in 438 Posts
Drop the ammeter. The ammeter is a long wire run in many boats causing a voltage drop in the line, many have replaced with a volt meter.

Dave Neptune
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dave Neptune For This Useful Post:
Larry in Maine (02-21-2021), sastanley (02-20-2021)
  #3   IP: 69.250.111.245
Old 02-20-2021, 08:10 PM
sastanley's Avatar
sastanley sastanley is offline
Afourian MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Solomons, MD
Posts: 6,766
Thanks: 766
Thanked 429 Times in 323 Posts
Larry, Agree with Dave on the ammeter delete. In the 70's they thought it was a good idea..the problem is the ENTIRE charging circuit is going from the alternator to the ammeter and then (likely) to the 1-2-ALL switch. That is a long run. I deleted the ammeter which allowed me to run the alternator output directly to the 1-2-ALL switch and put in a voltmeter..if I see 13+ volts on that meter I at least know the alt. is working. These days if you want an ammeter, I'd recommend a shunt style ammeter somewhere else.
I noticed you wanted to add a tach. I'd still recommend a volt instead of ammeter, but maybe I'd relocate the fuel gauge somewhere else too, so I could add a tach..maybe put the fuel gauge downstairs on a bulkhead somewhere..You don't really need that right up there in primary real estate. I don't even have a fuel gauge..I lift a cushion and do a visual check thru my poly tank.
__________________
-Shawn
"Twice Around" - '77 Catalina 30, #511 with original A-4 & MMI manifold.
She is even happier with fresh paint on the topsides!

http://www.moyermarine.com/forums/signaturepics/sigpic3231_6.gif

Last edited by sastanley; 02-20-2021 at 08:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 172.58.75.199
Old 02-20-2021, 08:21 PM
roadnsky's Avatar
roadnsky roadnsky is offline
Afourian MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lake Mead, NV
Posts: 3,026
Thanks: 22
Thanked 375 Times in 258 Posts
As Shawn said, you don't need your Tach in your main gauge cluster.
(I put mine in a side coaming where an old depth gauge used to be)
You really just need to see it once in a while to set engine speed.

Also agree with Shawn to replace that Ammeter with a Volt meter.
Attached Images
 
__________________
-Jerry

'Lone Ranger'

1978 RANGER 30
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to roadnsky For This Useful Post:
Larry in Maine (02-21-2021)
  #5   IP: 73.223.157.68
Old 02-24-2021, 11:41 PM
SeaHarlequin SeaHarlequin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 45
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Nice Lookin' Panel

That Engine Warning System panel looks nifty. Is that something one can buy?

I have a Ranger 29 and the instrumentation on there is nowhere as nice looking. I'm looking for some ideas for upgrades. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 208.104.196.121
Old 02-24-2021, 11:49 PM
Hawkeye54 Hawkeye54 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Indian Land, South Carolina
Posts: 28
Thanks: 18
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Sea Harlequin - Browse thru our hosts online catalogue - it is there
( KTAS_01_564 )







Rick

Last edited by Hawkeye54; 02-24-2021 at 11:53 PM. Reason: Added part number information
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Hawkeye54 For This Useful Post:
sastanley (02-25-2021), SeaHarlequin (02-25-2021)
  #7   IP: 69.250.111.245
Old 02-25-2021, 02:32 PM
sastanley's Avatar
sastanley sastanley is offline
Afourian MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Solomons, MD
Posts: 6,766
Thanks: 766
Thanked 429 Times in 323 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeaHarlequin View Post
That Engine Warning System panel looks nifty. Is that something one can buy?

I have a Ranger 29 and the instrumentation on there is nowhere as nice looking. I'm looking for some ideas for upgrades. Thanks!
SH, Jerry's stuff is always a step up from everyone else's. That EWDS panel would be a fabulous upgrade for anyone with A-4. I have it one my wishlist when I have a couple boat $$ to burn.
__________________
-Shawn
"Twice Around" - '77 Catalina 30, #511 with original A-4 & MMI manifold.
She is even happier with fresh paint on the topsides!

http://www.moyermarine.com/forums/signaturepics/sigpic3231_6.gif
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where do you guys have your engine instruments? scratchee General Interest 19 01-07-2021 12:52 PM
Complete A4, with instruments etc FS. Nova Scotia Easterner For Sale - Engines and Engine Parts 0 05-18-2015 09:55 AM
Instruments not working Will S Troubleshooting 9 06-13-2013 12:03 PM
off topic Newport 30 Ript75 General Interest 5 01-31-2012 04:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Universal® is a registered trademark of Westerbeke Corporation

Copyright © 2004-2021 Moyer Marine Inc.

All Rights Reserved