X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Burton
    • Sep 2012

Installing a fuel filter

Good morning - been a splendid run of days up here in Ottawa.

Last summer I purchased an Alberg 30 with an Atomic 4 engine (re-built in 2008 by previous owner, and all kinds of nice upgrades like electrionic ignition and a closed cooling system).

Now, my A4 set-up does not include any type of in-line filter. Engine always ran beautifully throughout the past summer. Then, in August after a hard sail in choppy seas I had problems with my carburetor (i.e., couldn't drive the boat in gear unless the choke was pulled out), which I removed and cleaned up, and everything has been fine since. A local mechanic I spoke with suggested that there might be some crud in the bottom of my tank which got stirred up, and that I should install an in-line fuel filter. I have no experience with this type of installation process, and was wondering if there is an ideal position to mount the filter (i.e., level with the tank, or does it make any difference if below or above?) - not that I have a lot of options in that cramped space - and what will happen after installation when I start the engine - won't there be air in the new fuel line and the filter body itself that will interfere with fuel reaching the carb? Should I pour gasoline into the filter before spinning it on to "prime" the system?
  • Dave Neptune
    Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus
    • Jan 2007

Mount 2

Burton, I'd mount the Racor type close to the tank and at the same aproximate "level" as the tank. THEN another small inline "pliishing" filter. Note the polishing filter is just a small inline caniser type that mounts just ahead of the carb to catch the "anything it gets" to keep it out of the carb. This filter should only have a carb downstream and/or a preassure gage for ease of diagnosis.