Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Electrical
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

#1   IP: 142.68.124.246
Old 08-27-2008, 05:53 AM
Afourian MVP

Schematic: tentative plan for new ignition/charging wiring

UPDATED 14 March 2009.
Our old A4's present (virtually original) ignition/charging schematic is here: http://www.moyermarine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2685. I ripped out all the old wiring from this 27' sailboat. My tentative plan for rewiring is shown in the attached diagram. Any thoughts?

Caution: I am not an electrical engineer, just a boater. Seek professional electrical advice before modifying your boat.

Changes and my thinking:
1. Separate house and engine start circuits, one dedicated to each of the two batteries.
2. Both batteries exactly the same and to be purchased at same time (group 24 batteries with mixed CCA and deep cycle characteristics: like Nautilus Dual).
3. Blue Sea ACR 7610 to automatically combine the batteries for charging when the engine start battery is charged.
4. Blue Sea Combiner switch 5511e in combination kit 7650 to simpify battery switching operation for the crew (one switch on/off), automated paralleling of the batteries through the ACR for charging only (not starting!).
5. Ignition key to simplify operation for the crew (same as a car).
6. Run alternator output through a short wire to the starter BATT post to reduce that wire run (eliminate panel ammeter).
7. Replace the ignition panel ammeter in the cockpit with a voltmeter.
8. Collect all ground and grounding wires in a bus or two, rather than various bolts on the engine and bulkheads.
9. Fuse the battery (+) output wires.
10. Install a modern DC panel for the house loads with voltmeter for the batteries, and ammeter for house loads or alternator output (use handheld clamp to measur currents on other circuits as required).