X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • raleighm
    • Jan 2005

Help! Water in carb throat!!

I have been working with my A4 for a couple of years now and am still having issues. My original problem was contaminated fuel due to an old steel tank that had a lot of water/rust in it when I bought the boat. A year ago, I replaced the tank, fuel filter and carb with new ones and flushed the fuel system. I now have nice clean fuel but recently discovered a new problem.

I raced on New Year's Day and the engine started right up at the pier and ran beautifully. I motored to the pre-race meeting/breakfast, then started the engine again and motored around some more prior to the start. No roughness, low power, unusual smoke or any other contra-indicators. The race was in high winds and waves so we got knocked around a good bit and were heeled over nicely all day. After the finish, I tried to start the engine to go home and - nothing. It would turn over fine, checked to make sure there was spark, all the usual but never got it to run. It did catch once and ran VERY slowly and sluggishly in idle but soon died. This had happened on occasion in the past but had always started eventually and always started right up the next time I came to the boat and cranked up at the slip.