Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Troubleshooting

#1   IP: 104.132.53.77
Old 05-29-2018, 11:43 AM
Frequent Contributor

Misfire at high RPM

Hey all,

I am kinda new to the Atomic 4 and for that matter to working on engines overall. Therefore, please excuse if the following question is simple or stupid

A couple months back I bought my first sailboat. The Oday 32 is sailing nicely, but I have some issues with her engine.

After some engine tune-ups, the engine starts nicely and runs smoothly in low RPMs. However, if the engine speed is increased the engine starts misfiring.

Troubleshooting the problem, I think we actually have the firing order wrong. Based on what I read, the firing order is 1-2-4-3 CW, but we set it CCW.

Question 1:
Is the firing order and direction the same for all Atomic 4s?

I tried to adjust this, but can't get the engine to start anymore then. So I am wondering why that is.

Question 2:
Why would the engine start nicely and run smoothly in low RPMs if the firing order is wrong in the first place?
Question 3:
Is there an easy way to set the timing perfectly? Like, can I somehow measure the timing until I have the most perfect setting, instead of just turning the distributor by hand till I think it is perfect?

Can anybody help me understand this better?

Thank you all!
  #2   IP: 172.95.97.58
Old 05-29-2018, 03:42 PM
Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus

Thanked 1,298 Times in 844 Posts
#1 yes

#2 these engines are not real fussy

#3 A~perfect with much difficulty if you are unfamiliar with fine tuning.
B~will run fine setting close pretty easy with some guidance
C~ will run OK or pretty good setting it via power timing.

It is a choice.

If the distributor is wired backwards it will run on 2 cylinders as they will be in the same spot.

Dave Neptune
The Following User Says Thank You to Dave Neptune For This Useful Post:
Administrator (05-29-2018)