Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Electrical

#1   IP: 162.234.116.125
Old 07-14-2017, 07:27 PM
Frequent Contributor

Cranking problem with 1968 C&C redwing 30

Newbie here and I have a problem. Started with engine overheating. Followed raw water cooling system all the way from intake to heat exchange. All pathways clear with great water pressure. Problem was I got back pressure and the entire cooling system ran hot all the way back to the raw water intake. I shut engine down and let it cool. discovered heat exchanger was blocked. engine ran fine the entire time at about 180 degrees but could hear boiling sound. tried to push water through heat exchange with no luck. I took off the hose from rear of heat exchange and got great flow. I tried to push a wire thru with no luck. I finally took a long blade screw driver and push down into the heat exchanger. it must have broke the blockage. I poured 6% vinegar down from front intake of heat exchanger thru a clear hose attached. I was rewarded with furious bubbling and black particles coming back up the clear tube. I left it to work for about 30 minutes and then flushed with fresh water. Now here is the problem: while replacing the rear hose on the heat exchanger I caused two wire to break from the coil. I repaired and put back where they had been attached to the coil. There was a green wire looked to be 14g and a red one coming from the back of the alternator it looked to be 16 or 18 g. they were both connected to the coil at the same terminal. When I tried to crank the engine it would not start. I shut off the water intake to keep from flooded engine with water and used starter fluid into the carburetor. still wouldn't crank. Could I have gotten water in the carburetor and that's the reason it won't start. I ran out of time and had to get home so couldn't check if getting fire. Does anyone have any idea about the wiring scheme from the alte