Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Fuel System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 107.77.104.57
Old 03-06-2019, 06:26 PM
Smuggli's Avatar
Smuggli Smuggli is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: St. Paul MN
Posts: 21
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
New Carb - Throttle Cable Conundrum

I just finished installing a new carburetor from MMI on my early model A4. Got all the bits from Ken needed to make this work. I’m replacing an old style carburetor with a new one. My only problem is the throttle cable attachment. The old carb had an adjustable arm which was set forward to allow the cable assembly to travel more forward than the new carb arm allows.

The obvious answer is to simply re-mount the cable to accommodate the difference. However, there are two issues, one, it’s not possible for me to remove the bracket without unscrewing the large bolt on the rear of the engine. Which I am afraid to do lest I create a new series of problems.

But more importantly, even if I could adjust the cable mounting scheme, the connection at the end of the throttle cable would then be in direct contact and rub against the rubber fuel hose connecting the “U” shaped tube from the fuel pump (electric) to the carb.

I am at a loss as to why the new style carburetors do not have the arm adjusting nut. That would make this a 3 minute fix. Instead I am dead in the water. Am I missing something?

Is there an adjustment for the new carb arm angle that I am missing?
Scott

Last edited by Smuggli; 03-07-2019 at 10:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 107.77.104.57
Old 03-07-2019, 01:07 PM
Smuggli's Avatar
Smuggli Smuggli is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: St. Paul MN
Posts: 21
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Adjust cable I guess

Talked with Don. Removed the mounting bracket and attempted to attach cable back further. Iím still an inch too long on the end of the throttle cable and have no more room on the bracket. So Iím trying to decide what to do next. Have a longer bracket machined for me? Or do I buy a new throttle cable. I have a Edson wheel / pedestal steering so thatís a whole new nightmare.

Itís costing me $70 a day to stay here. So Iíd like to get moving. Been stuck a month with engine problems. The missus is getting ready to hop a plane to anywhere else.

Iím open to any ideas. Thanks!

Scott Muggli
S/V Anna Rita
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 69.254.31.41
Old 03-07-2019, 02:47 PM
Don Moyer's Avatar
Don Moyer Don Moyer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,780
Thanks: 0
Thanked 80 Times in 42 Posts
Throttle cabe bracket

Scott, Ken may have reached you by this time, but he's sending you a photo of our throttle bracket, which is an aftermarket copy of the one Universal sold in their later years. It attaches under the two uppermost 1/2" hex-headed bolts on the aft housing. If you have access to that neighborhood of your engine it would be a good solution for you. The product number in our catalog is: OBLK_18_177

Here's a link: https://moyermarine.com/product/thro...s-oblk_18_177/
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 107.77.104.36
Old 03-08-2019, 09:31 AM
Smuggli's Avatar
Smuggli Smuggli is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: St. Paul MN
Posts: 21
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Bracket

Well that might be the ticket. Iíll call Ken and get the measurements. Otherwise, I think I can fashion an extender plate to the existing bracket. Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 107.77.104.36
Old 03-08-2019, 04:00 PM
Smuggli's Avatar
Smuggli Smuggli is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: St. Paul MN
Posts: 21
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Smile Solved

I was able to fashion a bracket extension plate and drilled some holes and bolted it to the existing bracket. Got everything connected and sheís running smoother than ever. I think I had misaligned the alternator belt and had it tensioned too tight and that was the source of the clacking. The new 55amp alternator is doing its job.

I also suspect the old carburetor had a hairline crack somewhere inside, which would explain a lot. Probably from winters in Northern WI. Anyway, all appears to be working. I think weíre back in business.

Thanks Don for setting me off in the right direction.

Scott Muggli
S/V Anna Rita
Alberg 35
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Smuggli For This Useful Post:
Administrator (03-08-2019)
Reply

Tags
carburetor, linkage, throttle cable

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
oops ,, idle hands cause much trouble BadaBing Fuel System 28 01-20-2016 03:40 PM
Choke Cable Problem edwardc Fuel System 19 09-08-2014 11:04 AM
Carb For Palmer P60 - Same as Atomic 4? bpowdrell Fuel System 3 08-29-2012 08:58 AM
My Atomic 4 has fuel issue's? yeahjohn Troubleshooting 71 07-18-2012 02:32 PM
Carb Choke cable retention Tommmmd Fuel System 6 04-28-2010 01:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Universalģ is a registered trademark of Westerbeke Corporation

Copyright © 2004-2019 Moyer Marine Inc.

All Rights Reserved